I want my JRPG

After a quick scour through the years upcoming releases I have noticed a distinct lack of something. What is lacking is also one of my favourite things; The JRPG. IGN tells me that there are 3 pages worth of RPG’s coming out this year. Excellent! Until I start to look through what is apparently on offer. There are of course the usual suspects like Mass Effect 3 and the highly anticipated Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. I am honestly not interested in either of these though. Sure, FFXIV is coming to the PS3 at the end of the year, but i’m not really a MMORPG girl, and I most certainly do not want to play a below par MMORPG.

Look! Over there! Nintendo is running away with all the JRPG's!

Okay okay, so it’s not like there aren’t any JRPG’s coming out at all. I am very mcuh looking forward to Golden Sun: Dark Dawn and Radiant Historia, both on the DS, but that’s the problem; None of these are coming to the main consoles. I remember playing Dragon Quest VIII on the PS2 and I was blown away. I simply couldn’t wait to get my hands on Dragon Quest IX! Then, it came out on the DS. Yeah it was good fun, but it was also a multiplayer game, not a single player JRPG. And now there is yet another Dragon Quest game coming to the DS. What is so wrong with putting these onto the main consoles? There are loads of JRPG’s for the Wii, but I honestly do not enjoy the Wii so I am even put off by the new Zelda game being released on it, and I adore everything Zelda related.

Too often recently have I been feeling that all I want to do is plug in my PS1 or PS2 and just experience some of my old favourites. I am currently playing through FFX again on the PS2 and loving every minute of it, as well as still having Persona 3 FES and PErsona 4 to work my way through. Instead of playing the latest releases I think i’d rather play through Dark Chronicle again, or even the first two Shadow Hearts games.  Lets be honest, all of the above are so much better than the atrocity that was Final Fantasy XIII.

In a bid to keep myself amused last night I actually dug out the original Grandia on the PS1 and played on that for several hours before bed. Graphics are not really a big thing for me, but this game from 1997 still looks stunning as ever in my opinion. It’s not 3D rendered CGI, but so what? It has incredible characters, a really fun battle system and an excellent levelling and skill system. They certainly don’t make them like that anymore.

Bring me back the JRPG! Bring me back over the top summon spells, ridiculous characters and turn based combat. Call me stuck in the past, but it’s what I enjoy. The more the JRPG has progressed, the worse they have become. I just want to be excited by a plot again. I want to be excited by characters and want to actually grind for a purpose.

I hope I will be able to take back everything in this little ramble at a later date, but i’m not too optimistic on that front. Are there any JRPG’s I might have missed?

3 thoughts on “I want my JRPG

Ramble with me

