Catching up and procrastination

After having a very long, blissful five hour session on Deus Ex last night, I thought I might need to crack on with my essays for uni. What better way to procrastinate, than to update my blog! Need to get the creative juices flowing, that’s my excuse

Anyway, I’ve mentioned that I had Deus Ex before, and I managed to get stuck on it last night. It’s been so long since I actually managed to engross myself in a game for that long though, I had almost forgotten the joy that playing a game brings me. It took me about an hour and so many attempts to get past this one section in the game, but it was worth it in the end for the progress that I made. I am really enjoying it, and I do have to say a well done to Square Enix. It is by no means going to be one of my games of the year, but it is enjoyable for what it is, and the fact that I can wander about freely and interact with whoever I want is awesome. The futuristic, dystopian looking world is also rather awesome to me, so it pleases me on a visual level too.

Check out them guns

I do get the feeling it’s a little bit like Mass Effect at times, especially when it comes down to wandering in and out of strip clubs with quirky banners and bright flashing lights, but there’s also something a lot more down to earth about it, despite it being about human augmentation and having slight sci fi elements to it. Thankfully there are no aliens in it…yet. Because then it would just be a Mass Effect rip off, without the team work.

Once I have finished this though, and my assignments for university I am hoping to get hold of Skyrim if I am told it will be of interest to me. Yes, I know, Oblivion was amazing, blah blah blah. I didn’t like Oblivion, it just seemed sluggish and took too long to get going. This is why I liked Fallout (and perhaps due to the guns in it as well…), it just got on with it, and it seemed to work better for me. From what I’ve seen and heard about Skyrim so far though, it looks to be far superior to Oblivion form my point of view. Throwing you straight into the action and letting me wander wherever the hell I please sounds like bliss.

There's just something so awesome about a dragon...

Staying on similar lines though, I quite fancy Skyward Sword. Reading an article about it in a games mag recently got my adrenaline pumping. I remember that being a good day, and me being filled with geeky glee for the remainder of it. The only problem is, I don’t like the Wii, nor do I have the console up here with me. The Wii is about 140 miles away from where I currently am, and I would still much rather play a Zelda game with a real controller. Yeah, it’s fun to swing the Wii-mote around and pretend you’re Link every now and then (Hell, you can even dress up as him if you’d like, just to complete the look) but it soon gets boring and I’d much rather just button bash and roll everywhere without having to do some spazz-tastic hand motion.

Still too cartoony, but looks incredible

Those are the three games on my radar at the moment. If I think of any more than that I may begin to get depressed as I simply don’t have time to play them. I wish I could have just done a Video Game Journalism course instead, it would make keeping up with my hobby so much easier!

Ramble with me

