Nostalgia, achievements and trophies, oh my!

I recently picked up a copy of Tekken Hybrid on PS3. This random collection contains a revamped version of Tekken Tag Tournament (A classic on the PS2, and a classic for all Tekken fans I am sure), a preview of Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Prologue, and the movie Tekken Blood Vengeance. Now, for a HD film, one complete game, and a teaser of a new game I wouldn’t say that £17.98 is a bad price.

That’s not the point of this entry though. As my PS3 went through it’s very painful process of downloading updates and installing games, I noticed something in this process I had never seen before. When it was nearly finished, it installed/downloaded the ‘Trophy list’. Now, I know for a fact that when you download an Xbox Classics game that you don’t get any new shiny achievements added to it. Unless this has changed since I moved, then I apologise, I have not been connected to the internet on my Xbox since July last year. The thing is though, why do I need trophies on a port of an old PS2 game?

It got me thinking about this perhaps being a bit of a scheme (a very clever scheme) by games developers to get you to buy their games. Slap on a few trophies or achievements that weren’t there before, and you have an instant hit. We have become the generation of gamers that is addicted, sometimes, to achievements and trophies. I won’t lie, I did get a little excited at the prospect of earning little virtual trophies for kicking ass on Tekken Bowl for the first time in many years, but I don’t really need them. I’ve already finished this game a long time ago, but trophies seem to add more replay value to it. I mainly bought the game for the HD shiny-ness, and the hilariously dubbed film. The game was just a bonus.

Another thing I have just noticed though is the sudden abundance of HD releases. Okay, well abundance might be stretching it a bit, but looking on Amazon I have just noticed they are releasing a HD pack for Devil May Cry 1,2 and 3 and also a HD pack for Silent Hill. This is where I may contradict myself, but oh well. I still own all of the Devil May Cry games on my PS2. I still have my Ps2. A fat one, and a slim one. I don’t really need a HD release of games that I already have, but then again, could they contain shiny new achievements? Probably, so no doubt I will end up buying it. My brain will tell me that it’s worth it, when actually £25 for games I already own, just for the sake of virtual kudos really isn’t worth it at all.

Dante is sexy enough without a HD remake.

Dante is sexy enough without a HD rehash.

It would be nice if they would just release older games. PS2 is only last generation. I know we’ve got Xbox Classics and PSOne Classics, but what about the poor people (such as myself) who aren’t connected to the internet, and can’t download the retro goodness?

I think we really have reached the point where we’ll never come back from being achievement whores. It happens to all of us, even those who claim they haven’t fallen into the trap. A virtual ‘ping’ and a little box appears and we get so excited it’s like Christmas. Virtual rewards are now invading our retro gaming, and I’m not entirely sure that I like it yet.

Ramble with me

