I still don’t like motion control

There. I said it. I don’t like motion control. Never really have, and perhaps never really will. I posted an article about this a couple of years ago. Back then I was skeptical, but now I just downright don’t like it.

What has prompted this sudden outburst I hear you say? Well, I finally got around to playing The Legend of Zelda; Skyward Sword the other day, and as beautiful as it looks, and as fun as it is to run around as Link again, I couldn’t help but feel as though some of the magic was lost when I had to start waving around the Wiimote. The frustration of waving my arms around distracted from the beautiful music, the stunning animation and the essence of what Zelda is actually about.

I don’t know, it’s frustrating for me. I want these games to be good, but I just don’t see that people really want to flail their arms around like a raving lunatic and pretend to be Link, or a Jedi Knight. The reviews on Star Wars Kinect have hardly been glowing, lets be honest. Motion control is still a bit of a gimmick for me. I don’t own the Kinect, nor do I want to. I have it back home, and it’s completely unused. I have played with the PSMove a few times and it just doesn’t do anything for me at all.

Dear game developers; just give me a good game, with a good story, good characters and kickass gameplay. That’s all I want. I don’t want to shout FUS-ROH-DAH at my Xbox, that just makes me feel a little bit silly. I just don’t understand this latest generation of console additions. I’m hoping that E3 won’t be as Kinect-centric as it was last year. I am also hoping that Microsoft don’t do what the rumours are stating; release a console that doesn’t require discs. I’ve seen several posts about this across the internet with one valid argument against it; not everyone’s internet is not capable of downloading mammoth games. For a start off, I don’t even have wireless internet in this house so that means that this Xbox would be useless to me.

This brings me back to that classic saying; if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Gaming was never broken, so please stop trying to add fancy little gadgets to it. Gaming is not a swiss army knife that you just add ridiculous things to. That just makes it bulky and ugly. Just let me have my controller. I play games to wind down. The last thing I want to do is start waving a controller around, and get frustrated because the motion sensor keeps ballsing up and not detecting me.

Moving on from my rant, I am hopefully starting a second blog. I won’t be abandoning this one, don’t worry! I want to start a second blog so I can make note of all the weird and wonderful things that happen to me when on public transport. If you follow me on Twitter then you will know that I spend a lot of time on public transport, and a lot of the time I come across some bizarre people. My tales of woe make my family laugh, so hopefully I can make the internet laugh as well!

Those who read my previous post will remember that I was waiting patiently for Pocket Academy 2 to pop up in English on the Android store. Well, the very second I hit the publish button, I did my daily Kairosoft search and BAM, the original Pocket Academy was there and ripe for the taking. Needless to say I bought it instantly and played it for about 5 hours (entirely ignoring the man, and everyone else around me…), and I have just finished it for a second time. It’s magical, that’s all I have to say. I need more Kairosoft, MORE!

And on a very final note, I have my only and last exam on Thursday which I think if I revise for any more my head might pop. The Saturday after my exam the man is coming to stay, so I will be away from the Internets until he has gone on the 17th. Hopefully I will be back with an update next weekend!

2 thoughts on “I still don’t like motion control

  1. Totally agree with you. It`s a bit fun at a party, but it is like a Wii. It is like virus thats spreads around the world. Everybody has it, but nobody uses it.

    The Kinect thingy is also to blame for getting my calf strain worse! grrr:)

Ramble with me

