My Top 5 Gaming Soundtracks

I have a passion for video game music. I don’t know where it came from, I just find it beautiful. When I’m in the right mood I can sit down and chill out to a video game soundtrack for hours on end, preferably one without vocals. Here are my top 5 video game soundtracks, in no particular order.

Final Fantasy VII – Playstation One

This one was a given, considering my insane fandom of the game. Listening to this soundtrack gives me a lot of happiness as it takes me back in time to when I first discovered the world of gaming. It’s very difficult for me to narrow down exactly what track is my favourite, but this is at least one of them;

Shadow Hearts Covenant – Playstaton Two

I adore the Shadow Hearts series. Even the third one gets some love from me, up until the point it got too weird. But the music that stands out the most from this cult-status RPG is from the second game. Without Yoshitaka Hirota’s work on this soundtrack, the game would not be as magical as it is. My favourite track is, funnily enough, from the opening cinematic;

Baten Kaitos – Gamecube

This is one of the more obscure games in my collection, but one with a brilliant composer. Motoi Sakuraba did a really good job with this one. The song that sticks out for me the most is the boss battle music. I remember the first time I heard it and I instantly fell in love with its techno beat and random lyrics;

The Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time – N64

Koji Kondo, you are a genius. Ocarina of Time has always had some beautiful music in it, and any gamer will know Epona’s Song and Saria’s Song. they are all unique and repetitive little ditties that we all enjoyed playing on our little ocarina as Link, and I think these will stay with us for a long time. Again though, none of the above are in my favourites list. The award for my favourite Zelda song goes to;

Final Fantasy X – Playstation Two

I know, I know. Two Final Fantasy soundtracks in one post. I can’t help it, I just love Nobuo too much. This was really the last Final Fantasy that had a decent soundtrack, at least in my opinion. It’s very soothing and I can listen to it to relax and relive those beautiful cut scenes from the very first Final Fantasy on PS2 and one of the most beautiful. Ironic then that I would choose a quite fast paced song as one of my favourites;

Ramble with me

