Life, and my thoughts on the Wii U & PS3 Super Slim

I don’t like going into too much detail about what goes on in my personal life, but this is one of those times where I feel the need to share it for no other purpose than to share my celebrations. Tomorrow is my one year anniversary with the man in my life. We celebrated on Monday due to work constraints etc, so we stayed over in London at a hotel in Westminster and had the best time. I seriously recommend staying at the Double Tree in Westminster if you can afford it, or if you can find a good deal. We had a fantastic time, and a fantastic meal. We also had an iMac in our hotel room to watch TV on and surf the interwebs, so that was of course a bonus to two super geeks.

In other tech and life related news, my phone decided to stop making noise a few days ago. True to form I panicked, told everyone my phone was screwed and considered buying myself a new phone/paying off the remainder of my contract. Actually, all I needed to do was order a replacement speaker part online for £2.79 and fix the damn thing myself. Not that it wasn’t a nerve wracking experience. The thought of completely breaking my phone when taking it apart was a very real fear. But now my phone has broken its vow of silence, and it’s oh so good to have some sound back in my life.

But anyway, onto the gaming. The Wii U has been properly promoted, and the PS3 Super Slim has been announced. My (brief) thoughts on both? Meh.

The Wii U

I own a Wii, and I barely use it. So the Wii U for me is another thing that just seems as if it will collect dust if I even consider buying one. In fact, I haven’t owned anything Nintendo related since the DS Lite. Here’s the thing though, the idea of the Wii U sounds nifty to me, but I just can’t see it taking off. It’s like some sort of bipolar console. On one side it’s doing 18+ games like Zombie U, and on the other it’s releasing the usual Nintendo fare. It just seems a bit strange to me. I know people have been wanting more mature gaming from Nintendo from a while, but I remain in the ‘unsure how that will pan out’ camp. Also, it’s damn expensive for what you’re getting. I get that some people are excited, but they’re going to have to do a hell of a lot more to impress me enough to buy it.

Shiny, but expensive for what it is

Shiny, but expensive for what it is

The PS3 Super Slim

Even though I’m a PS3 owner this doesn’t excite me in the slightest. I barely use my 250GB PS3 as it is, so 500GB is just irrelevant to me. There are so many other things that are so wrong with this though. It feels like they have taken a lot of steps back. Why? Well, for starters it’s louder. I couldn’t care less about that, I own a noisy Xbox 360 Elite, but that’s not the point. Also the console is now top loading with what looks to be a really flimsy disc cover. What happened to sleek? Now they’ve given fans clunky and cheap. The console is still not backwards compatible and still fails to come with a HDMI cable. It just seems like a last ditch attempt to get people to buy into it, and just as next gen should be coming round the corner. A pointless release in my eyes.

It looks like a radiator...

It looks like a radiator…

I may post more on these in the future as more is released.

On a final note, Borderlands 2 is coming out tomorrow. I don’t think I’ll be home when the post arrives, so no doubt I’ll end up getting it on Saturday but that’s fine by me. I’ve been finishing off Risen 2: Dark Waters and really enjoying my time with that before I go back to uni on Monday. I’ve also got an article about Gaming on a Budget coming out in next months Student Magazine at uni, so I’ll see if I can publish that here, or scan in the image for everyone to read.

Happy gaming!

Ramble with me

