DmC Demo Impressions

As soon as I saw that a demo for DmC had come out on Xbox Live yesterday, I ran to the controller, fired up my console and got right onto downloading that thing of beauty. To be perfectly honest, I had completely forgotten when it was coming out as well as what month it was thanks to stress at university. It took an age for the demo to download, but I finally got to play it at atound 11PM last night. Here are my thoughts on it;

First of all, I will say I’m still a little on the fence about this rehashed Dante. Only because I’m a fan of the Devil May Cry series and Dante should, to me, be in his big red trenchcoat, and have white hair. This ‘new’ Dante appears to have much the same attitude as the ‘old’ Dante however from what I gleamed last night. I think that DmC will have to be taken at face value, and as an indpendent game as opposed to a follow on if I am to enjoy it properly.

I was quite impressed with the ease of the battle system, and the variety of attacks that were available to me. The demo briefly explains to you that Dante is half angel, half demon, and this translates into his attacks. On one side you can use angel attacks which from what I could gather would mainly involve spinning around a scythe and attacking multiple enemies at once. On the other hand you could use devil attacks, which primarily seemed to be much heavier, bludgeoning attacks. For me, someone who likes to attack everything all at once, the angel attacks were really useful. Dante feels much faster during battles in this game than he has done in previous titles. Whether this is due to his ‘younger’ age or just an improvement in the system, it just feels as though he flows better throughout the battle scene even when using his heavy devil attacks.

Story wise, I’m not entirely sure what it’s all about as the demo didn’t give too much away, but from what I gather there is an anti-demon group, led by a strange masked figure who sends out cryptic video messages on the internet. This group are trying to send the demons back to where they came from. Who is the demon’s target? Dante of course, and as you travel along with an unnamed woman, you will enter different dimensions and be forced the fight demons as they manipulate the buildings and walls around you in an attempt to crush you between concrete.

I did get a little bit of a feel of Bayonetta with the changes in dimensions, mixed in with a dash of crudness from Dantes Inferno, which is by no means a bad thing, but I hope I won’t get that feeling through the whole game when it comes out in January.

All in all a pretty good demo that lets you play for quite a bit, and even lets you kick some demon boss ass one you complete the first section. If you’re a Devil May Cry fan, give DmC a go and let me know what you think of it too.

Ramble with me

