100 Posts! And Ponderings on Assassin’s Creed 3

It’s taken me years to get here, but I’ve finally reached 100 posts. I did want to do something wonderful and spectacular for my 100th post, but I don’t have the time, nor the spare cash to run some sort of bloggers giveaway. Anyway, here we are, 100 posts in, and here’s to another 100 (hopefully in a much shorter time frame).

I spent nearly 10 hours working on spreadsheets this weekend, so Sunday was my day off to do some gaming. My parents kindly sent Assassin’s Creed 3 up for me at the weekend, so I gave it a decent 7 hour session over the whole weekend. I’m really not sure where I stand with it at the moment.  On one side it’s trying to be a Sim game where I can recruit and build, but on the other side it’s trying to be an Assassin’s Creed game. assassins-creed-3

So far it’s felt like a very long, and drawn out introduction to a character that, only after 7 hours, I have had the opportunity to play as. It seems like a really badly executed tutorial at the moment, and I don’t have any feelings towards any of the characters at all yet. I don’t like Connor, and I’m not really following the complex story. It still doesn’t feel as though I’ve really started the game, as only just starting to play as Connor so far in has baffled me somewhat.

I suppose my main issue is the time it has taken for me to get as far as I have. It’s been very unforgiving in the beginning sequences, and it appears to be a lot more difficult than the previous games with Ezio and Altair. I like the fact that I can build my colony up, but even that has been taken away from me as I have to go on a random mission. It’s a bit too full of time jumps at the moment and I suppose I’m a little disoriented, but I hope in the next few hours it will settle down into some sort of rhythm,instead of jarring me all over the place.

42281

I’m not going to give up on it, but so far I’m not really feeling the love for Assassin’s Creed 3. I wasn’t exactly excited for it, nor was I dreading the sudden change of pace. The graphics are much improved in my opinion, and combat seems more fluid. It just feels a bit unfair at times at the moment, and utterly confusing in terms of plot and what kind of games it wants to be.

I will post more on my thoughts once I’ve had time to get a bit more into it, although I do think that 7 hours should be plenty of time to get into a game without having new characters thrown at me all the time, and lacking any feelings of accomplishment.

Ramble with me

