Ponderings on State of Decay

When a friend told me about State of Decay, I was a little wary. It took me a while to get into The Walking Dead, and looking at the screenshots for State of Decay, it didn’t look quite as appealing. I downloaded the demo however, and played it for the full hour that I was allowed before deciding to buy it. I’m definitely enjoying it, but it’s not a game that has me completely addicted to the point where I can’t put it down

Obviously I’ve recently bought Animal Crossing New Leaf so that has taken over everything else at the moment, but even before then I was struggling to spend longer than an hour or so on State of Decay. That’s not to say it isn’t a good game, because it is. It’s an excellent concept, and I was more than shocked when I died in the demo, and that was it; the character who I was playing as had really gone, and the other characters in the safe house were verbally mourning the loss.

State-of-Decay-image-387

When you die, it truly is game over

When you play a game, you expect that when you die you’ll just come back to life, or you’ll have to revisit a previous save point. It’s not very often that when a playable character dies, they’re gone for good, but the game carries on without them. That moment really hit home, and made me realise just how realistic State of Decay is in terms of survival. If I trash all the cars in the game, then I’ve got to walk everywhere by foot. Resources don’t respawn after a certain amount of time, so if you use everything you just raided from that house, there’s not going to be anymore unless you look elsewhere.

Weapons break and your stamina temporarily remains depleted until you ‘tag in’ with someone else so they can take on your zombie slaying responsibilities while you rest. It’s a tough game, and it’s not one for the impatient.

One of my main issues is the tiny text, and this is an issue that I have with a lot of games. I wear glasses. If I don’t wear them, the entire world around me is a blur. My 32 inch TV is no more than 6 foot away from me, and I am straining to see the tiny text at the bottom of the screen. Yeah, I can sit in a chair and move that closer, but why should I? I’m not exactly far away from it, and I enjoy playing games in the comfort of my bed. It’s just a personal issue I suppose, and an issue for another blog post.

screen3

This text is too damn small

I will go back to State of Decay, but I think I need to play some other, less strenuous games first. I like a challenging game, but you’ve really got to be in the right mindset to play State of Decay for any extended period of time.

Ramble with me

